2019 Design Awards Jury

Jury Chair: Xavier Vendrell
Principal Xavier Vendrell Studio.
Chicago /Barcelona

Xavier Vendrell studied architecture in his native city of Barcelona, where he has been practicing architecture since 1983. His work embraces a range of scales from landscape architecture, urban design, public buildings, housing and interior design.

In 1988, his office won the competition for the Poblenou Park in the Olympic Village of Barcelona. His office was involved in several other projects for the Barcelona 1992 Olympic Games.

Xavier Vendrell won the FAD Award in 1997 for the Riumar School. He has taught at the Barcelona School of Architecture (1990-1998). He was co-founder, in 1986, of A30 Edicions d’Architectura and he has written numerous articles for Spanish journals.

He founded in 1999 Xavier Vendrell Studio Chicago/Barcelona, a collaborative practice of architecture, landscape and design. His works and projects have been published in magazines and books, and presented in several exhibitions internationally and received numerous awards including several AIA awards from the AIA Chicago.

He has lectured across Europe, USA and Latin America. In August 2001, Xavier Vendrell was appointed Professor of Architecture, at School of Architecture, the College of Architecture and the Arts at the University of Illinois at Chicago. From 2002 to 2012 he has been a consultant for Rural Studio and since 2013 he is professor at Rural Studio, Auburn University.

Mary English is a licensed practicing architect and an Assistant Professor at Auburn University’s School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture. English’s research and creative work is focused on material systems and architecture pedagogy.

Emily McGlohn is an Assistant Professor of Architecture in the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture at Auburn University. Emily earned her Master of Architecture degree from the University of Oregon. Emily’s research interests focus on energy efficiency in affordable housing.

In 2015, Chris-Annmarie Spencer received the AIA Chicago Dubin Family Young Architect Award, and in 2017 she was honored with the AIA National Young Architect Award. Most recently, Chris-Ann was among 40 accomplished and diverse individuals nominated as a 2019 Leadership Greater Chicago Fellow, joining a legacy of building and strengthening the pipeline of civic leaders who will influence the future of Chicago.

Enrique Suarez is a leader of HED (Harley Ellis Devereaux) and one of its design leaders. A Principal of the firm, Enrique has dedicated his skills to serving a diverse array of Client, leading teams across the practice to advance thought leadership in architecture with a diversity of project types including workplace, retail, education, and mixed-use. As a designer, he has dedicated his energy to the notion that architectural concepts that carry the soul and essence of project design. Enrique has won over 20 design awards in his tenure with the HED, and currently serves as its Marketing Leader.