2017 Scholarship Awards

AIA West Virginia, a Chapter of The American Institute of Architects, has announced the recipients of its annual scholarship program for West Virginia students pursuing a career in Architecture. In 2017, AIA West Virginia was able to award $16,500.00 to five students, due in part to a very generous donation from Harper Engineering, along with numerous other chapter member donations.

The 2017 Scholarships were awarded this year as follows: $4500.00 to Michael Frush of Falling Waters, WV who attends the University of Tennessee; $4500.00 to Joey Kutz who attends the University of Tennessee; and $3.500.00 to Tyler Duty who attends the University of Kentucky.

The Floyd J. Clingenpeel Scholarship, sponsored by Harper Engineering, also went to Joey Kutz, who was selected for the $1,500.00 prize.

The Fairmont State University scholars recognized are: the $1500.00 Jeffrey Mayfield Memorial Award to Erin Taylor, and the $1000.00 3rd year award was given to Tyler Gross.

Students from Fairmont State University are enrolled in their 4-year non-NAAB Bachelor of Science Architecture Program led by Professor Phillip Freeman.

Because there is no accredited state school of Architecture, the WV Chapter of AIA has continued to support West Virginia students enrolled in out-of-state accredited programs leading to a professional degree in Architecture and continues to recognize the importance of the Architectural education to its profession and has consistently expanded the Scholarship Program since its conception.

Since 1986 the West Virginia Chapter of AIA has awarded $244,000.00 to 106 students pursuing an education in the field of Architecture.

Members of the 2016 AIAWV Scholarship Committee are:
William Yoke, AIA, Chair
John Harris, AIA, NCARB
Jody Driggs, AIA
Phoebe Patton Randolph, AIA
Gregory Williamson, AIA